6 comments on “Fuji X-E2 – More Images and Portability

  1. A lot of great images Richard. I really like what you are getting from the Fuji. As you know I do a lot of HDR and there’s one thing stopping me going back to them. The Ev spacing is only -1 to +1, not much good seem as some of my brackets go from -4 through to +2.

  2. Hi Mike. As you say AE bracketing can be set only in 1/3, 2/3 or 1 EV steps. Exposure compensation dial offers expanded range of +/-3 stops in 0.3 increments and this is more important to me. That said I can’t imagine using the X-E2 for HDR (I don’t do HDR anyway), I do use bracketing for layering then layer merge. if I did want to use Auto Bracketing I’d use either my D800 or D7100.

    For me the Fuji to provide photo opportunities in many ways a dSLR can, that’s weight when traveling light. The camera is proving that it can give me what I want it for, a lightweight, high quality holiday camera. I wouldn’t take it e.g. on my Snowdonia jaunts, as I use my D800, F100 and Bronica ETRSi Medium Format for the posh stuff and D7100 for the wildlife 🙂 That’s quite enough kit to carry!

  3. a few of the well known HDR guys have switched to using the Sony NEX 7 as their main camera, leaving behind their D800 or Cannon equivalents. Sony even did a firmware update to allow a bigger bracketing range. I asked the Fuji guys at FOI If they would consider that and they said no. I still use my S9600 if I want to do any macro or close-up work and I’m still a member of MyFinePix but like many of the long term members there we have all moved on from using Fuji cameras.

    • Really, leaving behind a D800 or 5D MKIII seems a bit rash! My wallet isn’t that big. I am not remotely interested in HDR, but if I was then both my D800 and D7100 would cater for that genre. The Fuji X-E2 gives me what I needed, which a lightweight alternative to a bulky dSLR when I need it.

      Mike, are you saying that folks actually moved on from Fuji because of the bracketing issue? I didn’t think that many bothered with it apart from layer blending exposures. In fact you are one of the very few folks I have seen who produces extremely capable HDR’s, so many seem to leave reality behind and enter an abstract world 🙂

      Richard

  4. I know of 2, not including me who moved to other manufacturers because they could not get a camera that does adequate bracketing. One is very successful in producing HDR photographs for sale in galleries and at shows. I believe he now uses Pentax, like me, but I haven’t been in touch with him for some time.

    For a long time Fuji more or less stopped making DSLR’s, the last one being the S5 but compared to offerings from Canon/Nikon and even Pentax it was way way out of date with it’s specifications. Others have moved because they wanted to be able to use a choice of lenses instead of Bridge Cameras and so went to Canon or Nikon. Steve Ransome who you met on the train two years ago is a Canon man now.

    • I think HDR is a love/hate relationship for some. It’s neither of those for me, but there is a delicate balance of dynamic range in achieving satisfactory results. Club Comp. judges can be critical if that balance is crossed. My first dSLR was the Fuji S2 pro, a wonderful camera that was my inspiration to get serious about dSLR photography.

Leave a Reply

